Picture of the Day…

john-lowin

Today’s picture comes from the collection at the Ashmolean in Oxford. Our sitter is John Lowin, who was a celebrated actor and associate of William Shakespeare, and managed the King’s Players from 1623-1642.  It is inscribed 1640, but no artist is attributed.

There is a little more information here: John Lowin

Incidentally, if you’re ever in Oxford, I would really recommend a visit to the Ashmolean. It’s a wonderful mix of art and archaeology, and they put on many excellent exhibitions that easily challenge the insane crowds and stress at the London galleries. As an added bonus, their cafe also serves an excellent cheese and onion quiche!

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I really like this portrait. Never seen it and I haven’t heard of John Lowin before now, either, so I have no prior impressions to go by. It just looks very engaging, somehow. I think it’s the pose, the way his hand it placed.

    Now I’d better go off and read about him, and hope he doesn’t turn out to be a jerk. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • I’d never heard of him either, I just saw a tweet from the Ashmolean about it and thought he’d make a good subject! I really like it too. The eyes have so much character. I wonder who the artist was? A Londoner, I’d guess, though I can’t offhand think of anything similar to this.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

