Happy Anniversary!

Our blog is 1 year old today! What started as both a place for me to ramble about my love of 17th century British portraiture, and an experiment to see if anyone else was even interested in the subject, has turned into a fascinating little corner of the web, with a growing collection of images from the period, and some geat discussions on everything from provenance mysteries to period fashion.

So a big thank you to everyone who has stopped by to read (and hopefully enjoy!) my posts, here and on Facebook, and especially to those who have left a comment or two and started an exchange of ideas. I’d love to see more comments and new posters joining in, even if it’s just to say hello!

If you have any thoughts on how we can do even better in our second year, please do get in touch. Suggestions for post topics, discoveries, information on artists/sitters, exhibitions,  sales, etc – always gratefully received.

One reader suggested a look at the painter John Souch, so he will feature soon, and I’m hoping to share plenty more 17th century discoveries from across the art world as they happen.

I’ll finish with this slightly blurry snap of Van Dyck and Dobson reunited in London’s National Portrait Gallery, at a recent exhibition on Sir Anthony and early self-portraiture in Britain. The two have a long history together, having been purchased at the turn of the 18th century by the historian Richard Graham. The paintings and their remarkable frames were in the same collection for 300 years, until Sir Anthony’s was successfully purchased by the gallery in 2014.  The Dobson is currently based at the National Trust’s Osterley Park.

william-and-anthony

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Happy birthday! 🎂🎉

    I thoroughly enjoy reading your blog. The seventeenth century is my favourite period of history and I love portraiture above all other art. Congrats on running a fine site!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Thank you very much! It’s been such fun researching and writing it, and your comments always reassured me at least someone was reading it! Here’s to another year! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Susanne

     /  January 13, 2017

    Congratulations on your first year! May there be many more!

    I too enjoy your blog tremendously being a great fan of the Seventeenth Century. I just can’t get enough, be it history, poetry, painting or music – it was such a fantastic century with so much to like. Even the fashion appeals to me (which doesn’t happen often), especially men with long hair, something sorely lacking these days. 🙂

    I also want to congratulate you on your biography of Dobson, It was long overdue, even if I had the exhibition catalogue, and I really enjoyed it.

    Here’s to more success!

    Susanne

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Even the fashion appeals to me (which doesn’t happen often), especially men with long hair, something sorely lacking these days. 🙂

      Men With Proper Hair solidarity fistbump, sister! The male fashions of the 30s in particular were what drew me to the period in the first place, when I was all of twelve.

      Like

      Reply
    • Thank you Susanne! I’m so pleased you enjoyed the book as well!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

